It was a good day for some jiu jitsu

Posted: July 2, 2013 in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I have not made time to post in a while and figured I need to get back to it. My training schedule over the last couple of months has been horrible. I have maybe been getting one day a week of jiu jitsu and maybe one or two more days of workouts. I have had some sickness, a child in the hospital, and a relative pass away all here recently. The blog kinda took a backseat to life. Hopefully I am now back in the swing of things.
I will start off with my recent tournament experience. I competed at the Southeast Missouri Open. It was not a large tournament but a good solid start for a first annual region tournament. The guys at midwestgrappler.com put on another very professional tournament. It was well run and well organized. The brackets were good with some tough jiu jitsu matches. Some of the best teams in the Midwest put on some very good matches.
Here is the rundown on how I did. Now understand I am in the blue belt masters division. This division is notorious for not having enough competitors to fill a bracket. So what usually happens is that we get thrown in with the young guys. No big deal. Well on this day they did not have a light heavyweight division, so I get grouped with the heavy/super heavy division. I am by far the smallest guy in this division with the largest topping out at 300 plus. Luck of the draw I get the first bye. My first opponent in the semifinal round is 6’5” 250. Myself I am 5’7” 201. I have to say I played a pretty good match and finished 11-0 on a solid tough opponent. This put me in the finals with only one match. Well with the move in division it placed me in the finals against a teammate. We have the rule as do most schools, we won’t compete against our teammates. So what do you do in this situation, we had an epic rock, paper, scissors battle to the death. Needless to say I am still here and crushed his rock with my paper. So I could not complain about my showing in the gi. Next was what they called an Old Man Superfight. I didn’t have anyone in the light heavy no gi division so I had a teammate from the main academy step and challenge me. By the way, thanks Michael Collins for the match. I was able to secure a darce choke and win the no gi superfight.
So all in all it was a good day and a great tournament. I was able to get some mat time. I felt good even though it had been some time since I had put in any hard training. I also received a very good compliment from a respected higher belt, and that was the best of all of it. It was a good day.

Leave a Reply

